The application uses the disk space to store temporary monitored data. It can be configured to place its temporary files on any available volume and configured to take as much free space as you want. Note that if the application becomes short of temporary storage, it starts deleting the oldest data, resulting in the removed data is not available for visualizers anymore.
There can be set two major policies for data processing. See the information below to properly choose the data policy you need:
If you change data policy settings, it will immediately affect any new monitoring sessions you create.
When you close the monitoring session, all used disk space is freed.
The system creates a hidden folder
$DMSTEMP$ on each configured volume where it creates its temporary files. When the monitoring session is closed, all files are automatically deleted. The hidden folder may remain until the application is closed. In case of unexpected shutdown, it is always safe to remove the folder manually.
In order to increase throughput, Device Monitoring Studio interleaves its access to different volumes. If multiple volumes refer to the same physical disk, you may increase throughput by disabling all but one volumes of that disk.
When monitoring session runs with data processing modules that do not require history (like Statistics, Data Recording, Raw Exporter or Text Exporter), a special high-performance mode is enabled. In this case, Device Monitoring Studio will not use temporary storage to store session's data.